Graduation Countdown To-Do List

As of today, there are nine days left until I graduate college with my second degree. I am eager and excited, but I am also extremely stressed (as most college students are at this time in the year).

Throughout my life, planning has always eased my stress. Making lists of what I need to accomplish allows me to organize the madness of life; the feeling of crossing an item off of my list is fulfilling. I have kept a planner since I was in elementary school and as an adult, I now keep two. One planner is for school and work, while the other is for my home. As I transition into post-graduate life, I will continue to have two: one for work and one for my home. Find cute and effective planners here.

giphy (2).gif

Source: Giphy

Below, I will share my to-do list (in full) of everything that I must accomplish between today and May 13, 2017. Typically, I break down my lists by day, but for the sake of brevity I will break them into categories only and combine all nine days. Some tasks are daily, while others are weekly.

To-Do List: 5/4/17 – 5.13.17

School

Class Schedule: COM 498 from 12 PM to 1 PM M,W,F. COM 412 from 1 PM to 2 PM M,W,F. Other courses – online.

COM 498: Update portfolio. Portfolio presentation at noon on 5/5/17.

REL 320: 1,500 word paper due on 5/8/17 (final exam)

COM 410: Complete Blog #7, Chapter 13 quiz this week. Take final exam next week (5/8/17 – 5/12/17)

COM 412: Final In-Depth Photo Package: 10 – 15 photos and captions, due 5/9/17

COM 470: No work – course complete!

COM 360 C: No work – course complete!

For the “school” category, I like to group tasks out by class. Adding the due dates and arranging assignments by what is due from next to last gives me a more efficient way of completing my work.

Work

Monday: 10 AM to 12 PM (Housing and Residence Life)

Tuesday: 8 AM to 11 AM, 12 PM to 5 PM (Housing and Residence Life)

Wednesday: 5 PM to 9 PM (USA TODAY College Internship)

Thursday: 9 AM to 11 AM, 3 PM to 5 PM (Housing and Residence Life)

Friday: 8 AM to 12 PM, 3 PM to 5 PM (Housing and Residence Life)

Saturday: 2 PM to 6 PM (USA TODAY College Internship)

Sunday: Off

I make separate lists at the beginning of every shift to map out what I must accomplish each day.

Home

Indoors

Kitchen: Do dishes (daily), clean counters and cabinets (daily), sweep floor (daily), mop floor

Living room & music room: Vacuum, dust

Spare bedrooms: Vacuum, dust

My bedroom: Tidy up, vacuum, dust

Laundry room: Wash towels, whites, and colors, fold clean laundry

Bathrooms: Clean toilets, sinks, shower, sweep floor, mop floor

Outdoors

Mow lawn, water flowers (daily), hook up sprinklers, water grass (every other day), brush dog (daily)

I also like to include which bills are due on certain dates and their amounts. For the sake of privacy, I have not included these listings in this blog.

Other/Misc. (Graduation Prep)

Meet with Dean of College of Fine Arts, exit interview, order tickets for Honors Convocation on 5/8/17, attend Honors Convocation before graduation on 5/13/17, graduation at 10 AM on 5/13/17, graduation party at 7 PM on 5/13/17

This method of organization helps me achieve my goals and prioritize my time. I hope that seeing an example helps you find peace of mind in stressful times, as well!

giphy (3)

Source: Giphy

 

#22 Build your to-do list – There are many to-do list apps and services, but try to publish your tasks on your blog. Other people will have the opportunity to learn from you. How you build your tasks, how broad or narrow they are, etc. can all be helpful to your audience.
Leave a Reply

